Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 28th, 2012

"Great grandchild"
Great Grand Child

Dear Child,

I have been thinking how to tell you about my life. It can be described as a diamond.  It begins at the bottom with a very tiny point. It grows up until it is really fat in the middle. And then it gets smaller, and smaller until there is the top point.

We have no idea about the top point. But we can decide what happens inside the shape. My life stories are inside my diamond-shape. Some may interest you. Some I am still thinking about.

One thing is true. As the diamond-shape of your life fills up, memories fade. I was in a fog until you would think I was really, really old. Even some of the good times cannot be recalled. It is harder to answer the questions you ask:

Who and what shaped who you became?

Why did you decide to make the choices you made?

I would like to credit everyone who said “Hang in there. Things will get better.” Or “Do your best and that is all you can do.”

Who knew?

Fortunately, we do forget painful things. But not everything. I still remember the emotions I felt about injustices, because I feel the same way today. That is true about things that happen to me or anyone.

Little one, fill up your diamond-shaped life. Nearing teenage, you have not reached the widest part of your life. You will forget most of what troubles you now.

Follow your dreams. Have B-I-G dreams. Do the best you can. Hang in there. Things will get better.

Love,

Gran’ma

Read Full Post »

Adding her writing to my to-read list.

Chief Writing Wolf

Carol Ann Duffy is a Scottish-born poet and playwright whose works often focus on gender-based oppression and violence.  In 2009, she was appointed Britain’s Poet Laureate, becoming the first woman and first openly gay or lesbian person to hold that position in its 300-year history.  Even then, however, her male colleagues referred to her as a “poetess,” which I think is akin to a man calling his beloved spouse “wifey.”  Duffy’s writings include Mean Time (1993), which won the Whitbread Poetry Award and the Forward Poetry Prize; The Other Country (1990); Selling Manhattan (1987), winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; and her first collection, Standing Female Nude (1985), for which she received a Scottish Arts Council Award.

Dramatic characters and narratives, voiced with a sharp edge of wit and social critique, characterize Duffy’s early work, while her recent collections have wrestled more directly with dark and tangled themes of love. …

View original post 166 more words

Read Full Post »

